Female, Single, Unemployed and In Love With Life at 60


Lesson one – when writing a blog, make sure you save it todraft frequently.  Lesson learned … twice.

My excitement this week – attending a FLASH MOB EVENT in Manhattan!  3000 people!   Here is a photo of the MOB from a nearby high-rise – I’ll tell you the details later …. who wudda thunk – at 60 I would go to a Flash Mob?  Why not???

So to start off my adventures in boomer blogging, let me first say that I know there are millions of boomers out there who have happily reached their goals for retirement and their future – and I am absolutely delighted for you!

I also know that there are probably as many of us who, for whatever reason, are not where we thought we would be – no white picket fence, no comfy 401K or IRA or otherwise investments … life circumstances gone off on left turns rather than thestraightforward path … being tossed into having to be sole providers for our families because of the death of a spouse, taking care of aging parents in end of life journeys, helping our children with their special needs children …  being fired from jobs because the economy played havoc with a budget created by other people and didn’t materialize and someone had to take the blame for it (why not you?) … a  hundred thousand reasons why our lives go off in directions we never would have imagined .. real-life issues.

But we simply handle those situations and keep on going the best we can– and find joy in what we have and humor in the next crisis … and as my mom used to say – pull up our big girl panties and deal with it!

I am 60 years old – with 2 adult children (one single mom with 2 teenagers who tries her damndest but never seems to be able to take a step forward without taking 2 backwards and a son who is an over-achiever who will succeed if he doesn’t wear himself out getting there)  – no job but
am trying to establish a home-based business based on my life career skill set –live with my daughter (recent studies indicate the massive increase in multi-generational families again due to the economy) – have been in arelationship for the last 3 ½ years which some days is and some days isn’t a relationship – and because of my “life circumstances” live check to check –knowing it would never happen because of family and friends but understanding the fear of being one step away from homelessness …

AND YET … in spite of that, I am grateful for all the wonderfulness in my life and know some day this all, too, shall pass.

AND I believe there is enough humor – real life – you can see yourself in me –  I can maybe teach you something about love and life – to keep you entertained enough to keep reading my adventures.  Life is an incredible adventure – and I hope you keep joining me for mine!  It’s never a dull moment … come along for theride – and peace and love to you –

Namaste

4 thoughts on “Female, Single, Unemployed and In Love With Life at 60

  1. I’m glad you visited my blog so that I came to yours. I will enjoy your humorous outlook, I’m sure, since I tend to be more serious minded. I have two grown daughters who live away. Being older than you are (by a few years), I am retired. Like you, I’ve had to pull on my big girl pants many times in my life.

    I know with your outlook that you are going to be fine. I hope your relationship works out, if that’s what you truly want in life.

    I’ll be back to visit your blog to check in on how you are doing.

    Like

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

