Enjoying Life’s Detours


“Enjoy life’s detours. They often provide some of life’s greatest memories.”  Anonymous

At the moment I am in Brooklyn, helping my son and daughter in law with a health crisis My daughter in law was struck by a speeding bicyclist on June 11, in Prospect Park, near where they live.  She ended up with multiple skull fractures (temporal, basal, orbital), 2 shoulder breaks and some broken ribs – along with some other issues.  After 25 days in King County Hospital Center (watch for a future blog on “Groundhog Day At King County Hospital”), she is now finally starting physical and occupational rehab.  She is mending quickly and well, and there will be no long-term, permanent issues as a result.

The accident is not the impetus for my musings … but rather the DETOUR I find myself taking this summer.  I flew in to NYC on June 23, and will likely be going home at the end of July or first few days of August … six unexpected weeks of visiting with my son and daughter in law!

They moved from Sacramento in 1998 and have lived in Brooklyn since.  They have both finished their college educations, and have worked on establishing their careers – he in the world of hedge funds and she in the world of performance arts.  They make it “home” a few times a year for a few days or a week at a time; I have been here to visit them 3 times in 11 years …  visits either way never long enough.

Because of “the accident” and my situation of being time-flexible, and them needing some assistance at home with walking their dog, getting DIL to doctors appointments, filing paperwork and retrieving medical records for her, I offered to stay as long as they need the extra hands. It has been an unexpected treat!  I have loved getting to know my DIL one on one; meeting their amazing circle of friends who have been so incredibly supportive and  helpful; seeing windows into their day-to-day lives here in Brooklyn and New York City – and spending TIME with my son.

We’ve been to improve comedy events in support of their friends, a flash mob event in Battery Park attended by 3,000 people, a Scottish feis in Rockland County where my son competed with the Martin Duffy Memorial Band (he’s a celtic snare drummer), we’re going to Connecticut for his company’s family pool party …. and hopefully to Coney Island to go to the beach … I’m loving it!

Except for Dana’s injuries, I wouldn’t trade this DETOUR for anything in the world.

“Enjoy life’s detours” … I ran across this little tidbit on one of my facebook “like” pages this morning and it just was one of those “smack up-side the head” moments.  How often do we forget to either take the detours, or fail to enjoy them for all of the incredible memories they offer us? I don’t think I ever will again.

As “Boomers”, many of us have the opportunity to take life’s detours more easily than we could at other times in our lives.  Do you take the time to enjoy them or let them pass you by?  You know what I hope.

Here’s to detours and my daughter-in-law with so much love and respect …

Sweetpea Daughter In Law

Namaste …

Author: The Itty Bitty Boomer

Real life as it happens behnd the picket fence.

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

