Musical Memories From The Summers Of Love – Concert Experiences


I was walking the dog-on-Prozac with my daughter in law yesterday morning – our morning walk in Prospect Park. We got to talking about music and concerts – and she asked what concerts I’d gone to as a kid. WELL … that started me on a sentimental journey!  You there!  – how many of these performers do you remember from the mid-60’s?  I had the time of my teen years going to see these rock stars!  And do you remember your favorite songs?

  “I Got You Babe” … I think Sonny & Cher was my first concert in 1965 ….

  “Surfer Girl”  – The Beach Boys

   “Ebb Tide”  – Righteous Brothers

   “Surf City USA” – Jan & Dean

  “Dream A Little Dream Of Me” – The Mamas & Papas

   “Hungry” – Paul Revere and the Raiders – with Mark Lindsey, of course!

  “Last Train To Clarksville” – The Monkees – can’t believe I’m admitting this one! lol!

And, of course, the British yummies:

   “A World Without Love” – Peter & Gordon

   “Ferry Cross The Mersey” – Gerry & The Pacemakers

  “Glad All Over” – The Dave Clark 5

  “Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood” – Eric Burdon & The Animals – met him in 1990 – have a photo somewhere!

Can’t forget the fabulous West Coast/San Francisco Summer of Love Bands!  The area where I grew up!

  “White Rabbit” – Jefferson Airplane with Gracie Slick

  “Laugh Laugh” – The Beau  Brummels (Laugh laugh, I thought I’d cry .. ) Sal Valentino STILL rocks!

And my biggest thrill …

  “Satisfaction” – June, 1966 – The Rolling Stones – Brian Jones, I still love you!

What a great time to be growing up and be a kid – so much history being made musically, politically, socially – it truly made being a boomer worth it!

Do you have any special memories?  Share them!

Namaste …

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

