Ha’ina ‘Ia Mai Ana Ka’Puana – And So The Story Is Told – Part 1


Ha’ina ‘ia mai ana ka’puana … is a line near the end of almost every Hawaiian song one hears … “And so the story is told”.  I love the sound of the Hawaiian language and how it translates!   You will hear this line towards the end of  this song (click link):   Brother Iz Panini Pua Kea.

For the record, this blog is not about Izzy  or Hawaiian language but I love him and his music and the language – and the world lost him way to soon.

Izrael Kamakawiwa,ole - Hawaii's Gentle Giant -  Click To Hear His Wonderful Voice
c Izrael Kamakawiwa,ole – Hawaii’s Gentle Giant –

However, in some cases I like to think this phrase loosely translates to:

“That’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it!” Or, “This Is My Story”

We all have a story – of our past, of our present, and what may happen in the future.   As 2013 winds down, and the prospect of 2014 is just ahead of us,  I started thinking about all the stories that are my life.  I would call them chapters, but chapters follow each other neatly and chronologically.  The different stories all happen concurrently.  And doesn’t it make life a little crazy sometimes?  But that’s life, isn’t it?  A little crazy sometimes?   I often think my life is not a Hawaiian song, all melodic and beautiful, but rather a country western song … know what I mean?

And how do you order the stories of your life? Prioritize them?  My stories are driven by my roles in life, so maybe there is no order or priority other than what seems to be at the top of the list at the moment.

For instance …

Today’s story is … it’s hubby’s and my 2nd wedding anniversary!  My life with him is one of my stories.

After being married at 18, for 23 years, then being suddenly widowed at the age of 41 in 1992, then remarrying 5 years later for all the wrong reasons and divorcing after 9 years in 2006,  I figured at 56 I was done with all this relationship crap.

Well, that lasted two years.  I was happy being single – happy with myself – but, y’know, it’s nice to have someone in your life, too.  It was a want … not a need … know what I mean?   So after a year or so of the “me time” thing, I tenuously tried the Match.com thing.  Well, there are blogs out there about all the mis-adventures of on-line dating.  I think I experienced them all (except the scam things).

But then in January 2008, after a month or so of winking and brief message exchanges (and my daughter’s January wedding), I got to talking more seriously to this one particular person.  Towards the end of January we decided to meet casually for a drink – in a very safe place (especially for me) – and for whatever reason we hit it off!  A year later (2009) I moved in with him.  A year later (2010) we hit some communication struggles and I moved out.  But we kept talking and seeing each other, and working through the issues we both had – and in September of 2011, I moved back in for the last time.  We were married December 15, 2011, and never looked back.

I have worked part-time for myself for the most part since we combined our lives.  I also work part-time for him and his business (environmental consulting).  As of late, I am still working part-time for me, and increasingly helping him with his business.

The most amazing thing to me about this man is his acceptance of me and my slightly crazy life – his willingness to embrace me and my family and to constantly have my back while I deal with some truly trying situations involving my adult kids.

Another amazing thing to me is how his children (also adults) have embraced me as his life partner – and even as a quasi-mother-figure.

We both work hard at building and maintaining trust – at loving each other constantly and every day. Of relying on each other emotionally – and every other way.  We encourage each other,  How lucky are we?

So that is Part 1 of “That’s My Story“.

Other Stories?

An adult life-long battle with morbid obesity resulting in RNY gastric bypass surgery 8 years ago, at which time I lost 95 pounds.  The battle is not over – it is a rest-of-my-life, daily struggle with head battles, minimizing and struggling to reverse regain and to maintain a healthy surgically altered body.

An adult son with bi-polar disorder who, after 20 years of being highly responsible and self-sufficient, is currently dealing with the effects of a downward spiral 6 months ago that is altering his life in ways he or we never imagined.

An adult daughter with bi-polar disorder, epilepsy and IGA deficiency (an imuno-deficiency disorder) who is a single mom every other week – tries her damnedest to be self-reliant but always seems to take one step forward and 1 or 2 steps back.

Her 14 year old son who is bi-polar and also suffers from a host of other behavioral disabilities such as oppositional defiance disorder, and learning disabilities from oxygen deprivation at birth.

A stepdaughter getting married in 4 months

A stepson who is mid-20’s and still trying to find his way (out of a marijuana fog) in life and decide what he wants to do

Are these really my stories?

I think so – because they are about people I love – and with whom I am involved on a daily basis.   And great life learning opportunities.  And there is still much joy in my life – and I wouldn’t trade my life for anything

What are the stories of your life?  How are you living or dealing with them?

Namaste – Ha’ina ‘ia mai ana ka’puana …  and now the story is told.

Itty Btty

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

