Happy Yule! Hope In The Dark For Brighter Days Ahead


The time of the Winter Solstice is the time of the longest nights of the year. Darkness triumphs – and yet, gives way and changes into light. The breath of nature is suspended. I wait while within the earth, in the cold darkness, the sprouts of spring are transforming into the infant regrowth to come.

I envision the coming dawn, when Mother Earth gives birth to the divine Child Sun, who is the promise of the summer. I beckon the Sun from the womb of the night.  Mother Earth turns the wheel once more.

mother

Since Winter Solstice is a solar festival, I celebrate by fire and the use of the Yule log and candles, bringing light into the dark.

It is a time to let go of all fears, all doubts, all outworn ideas, all projects finished – anything in my life that holds me away from the new beginnings that will lead to new growth. It is a time to let go of the past and walk toward the light.

yuelog

On these longest nights, I renew and rebirth my body, mind and spirit self. I plant my seeds of intention for renewed focus, truth, love, friendship, prosperity (in its many forms) and health.  I send positive energy to those I love and for the same that they may find an easier path in the new year.

It has been a challenging 2013 for me, for the loves in my life, and for friends of all sorts – my wish for you and me is that we walk into 2014 with  hearts not so heavy and positive resolutions to the struggles we all face.  And that we find love and light, peace and contentment in the new year.

Namaste – I honor you – and you …. and you … and you!

Itty Bitty

3 thoughts on “Happy Yule! Hope In The Dark For Brighter Days Ahead

    1. Me too! Strange winter, this one … here in Northern California it’s been a perpetual spring … missing the normal seasonal winter weather … and worry for those who have or are experiencing brutal winter …. the warmth and light ARE on the way – we’re almost half way to spring!

      Like

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

