Facing Our Fears – “LungLeavin’ Day”


You never know who is reading your blog – or how they get to your blog- stumbling on it – following a blogger who follows you – they see your response to a comment – searching tag words – however they get to you, they do.

A week ago I received a comment (into my spam) from a young man named Cameron Von St. James, asking me to please email him back as he had something to ask me. Not something I would normally do, but as I “Googled” him and found that he was published on HuffPost, I figured it was reasonably safe.

Here is Cameron’s response –

“Hi there!
I really appreciate you getting back to me! I wanted to reach out to you to share something very special to me. I actually found your blog while searching for those who have overcome obstacles in life. I noticed that you acknowledge it and I was wondering if you’d be willing to help me with a cause that means a lot to me.

Eight years ago, my wife Heather was diagnosed with mesothelioma; a rare cancer that kills most people within 2 years of diagnosis. She had just given birth to our daughter Lily, and was only given 15 months to live. After a life saving surgery that included the removal of her left lung, LungLeavin’ Day was born. On February 2nd, we celebrated 8 years of Heather being cancer free!

The purpose of LungLeavin’ Day is to encourage others to face their fears! Each year, we’ve gathered around a fire in our backyard with our friends and family, wrote down our biggest fears on a plate and smashed them into the fire. We celebrate for those who are no longer with us, for those who continue to fight, for those who are currently going through a tough time in their life, and most importantly, we celebrate life.

This year, we weren’t asking for money, or donations of any kind, we were just asking bloggers to participate and spread the word about LungLeavin’ Day. We’ve created an interactive page that tells the full story of our special day here:

(please click on their website and read about “LungLeavin’Day”)
http://www.mesothelioma.com/heather/lungleavinday/

Although the day has passed, we hope you will still check it out and share it on your blog. It would really mean so much to Heather and I. Let me know what you think or if you have any questions!

Sincerely, Cameron

What an incredible young couple … survivors in this game called life … and wanting to pay it forward.  How could  I not?  At the moment, I could smash a STACK of dishes to face my fears – and think I will.  But I will also smash one for Heather, Lili and Cameron Von St. James – with the hope that they stay cancer-free and have a long, happy and wonderful life together!

Won’t you smash a few plates?  And please pass on the link to their website and their sweet story – and their effort to encourage all of us to face our fears.

Namaste – I honor you as you face YOUR fears …

Itty Bitty

Author: The Itty Bitty Boomer

Real life as it happens behnd the picket fence.

10 thoughts on “Facing Our Fears – “LungLeavin’ Day””

  1. Reblogged this on nccheesehead and commented:
    I have been following The Itty Bitty Boomer for some time now and she’s impressed me with her journey. As I read this blog today, I felt truly humbled, here I am thinking I’ve over come this great demon of obesity and then I read about “LungLeavin’ Day”. Heather and Cameron’s courage in facing a real life threatening and usually fatal cancer is impressive beyond words. Please take the time to read this post and click the link. You’ll be glad you did. I will be participating next February 2nd.

    Like

Please! Share Your Thoughts With Me!

